The National University of Advanced Legal Studies (NUALS), established by the NUALS Act 2005, by the Kerala State Government, is amongst the premier National Law Universities in India, renowned for pursuing legal education par excellence. Since its inception in 2005, the University has endeavoured to further its objectives of promoting quality legal education and engendering in its students a sense of responsibility. It takes pride in striving to nurture and produce some of the most brilliant legal minds in the country, including leading lawyers, entrepreneurs and academics. Some of the students are also recipients of the prestigious Rhodes and the commonwealth scholarship.

The University boasts of an excellent mooting culture, which is evident from its stellar performance in notable National and International Moot Court Competitions. NUALS students have represented India in prestigious International Moot Court Competitions such as Philip C. Jessup International Law Moot Court Competition, Stetson International Environmental Law Moot Court Competition, Leiden Air Law Moot Court Competition, Frankfurt Investment Arbitration Moot, and FDI International Arbitration Moot. The University also takes pride in hosting its own Moot Court Competitions. The NUALS International Maritime Law Arbitration Competition, the NUALS Securities Law Moot Court Competition, and the NUALS Antitrust Moot Court Competition are the brainchild of NUALS to catalyse the mooting culture among its students.